Matthew Spoelstra

I was born on December 27, 1994, to Royce and Sharon Spoelstra in Oskaloosa Iowa. I have two siblings Micah, who is two years older than me, and Joshua, who is six years older than me. I spent the first thirteen years of my life growing up on a feeder cattle farm outside of Oskaloosa. I helped out on the farm quite a bit and joined 4-H when I was in 4th grade and through that I started to raise small pens of my own cattle that I could show and sell. In 2007, we moved away from the farm and into the town of Oskaloosa. My dad got a job for a meat distribution company. When I was in high school I started to roof houses during the summer with a local contractor. I did this for 5 summers before going to work for an electrician instead for these past two summers. Once I finished high school, I went to Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa and got a degree in Biblical Studies. Once I graduated I jumped right into seminary. Back home, a few family members and I have started up a business in which we buy up houses, fix them up, and rent them out to people in Oskaloosa. My dad now manages that as his full time job. Now that I am here in Grand Rapids, I have been getting to experience Heritage and helped with a few different programs. I am excited to continue to get to know the people of Heritage and get to interact with them regularly. I was so happy when I first experienced this church and knew that I was going into an excellent community that I will be able to learn a lot from. I am really looking forward to the next two years together.

mspoelstra@heritagecrc.net